Wk 15- Art Experience- Designing MY Life

This week’s art activity isn’t like our normal “art” experiences. This week we watched a video by Dave Evans called “Designing the Life You Really Want” his talk was mainly about applying design thinking into your life. I think this video came into my life at the perfect time. As a senior who is graduating in about a week, I really needed his advice about how how to go about designing my life after graduation. He claimed that about 80% of people pursue a career that is completely different than their field of study. And that it is okay to do so because people’s interests, needs and goals, evolve over time. This made me kind of happy to hear because I am currently thinking about pursuing a career different than what I majored in.

Dave also claimed how he hates when people ask the question “What do you want to be when you grow up?” I honestly hate being ask this question as well. This question implies that we are limited to only being ONE thing once we are adults and that we stop growing. But humans never actually stop growing. Instead he tells us rephrase the question into “What are you going to do as you continue to grow?” I like this question a lot better.

As I continue to grow there are many things that I would like to do. I have narrowed it down to 3 for the purpose of this activity.

Here are the 3 Possible Future Me’s:

  1. The thing you currently think you’ll be doing with your life

A school teacher. I love teaching. I have recently been thinking a lot about pursuing this career. In high school I had a few jobs tutoring younger kids and even did an internship at an Education consulting company that created Common Core exams for grades k-12 (This was my rapid prototyping). I didn’t realize before that teaching and helping students really makes me happy. I know I would have to get my teaching credential which would take a year or so which I could do a year or so after I graduate. I think I might still be a little young to be a teacher so I am in no rush haha. In the mean time I could work in a learning/ tutoring center or even at my old high school. Then once I have my credentials I can start teaching in my own classroom. I would love to teach elementary school. Another thing that really entices me about being a teacher is all the paid vacation time. I don’t know any other job where you get paid winter and summer vacation. I would love to use this time to travel the world because I’ve never really left California. Paris will be my first destination. Then Italy… Ireland…Spain…

2. The thing you would do if the current thing disappeared tomorrow

Public Relations. In college I majored in journalism with a specialization in public relations and a minor in communications so I could always fall back on this. I thought I wanted to work at a fashion public relations agency but after doing my internship at one in Beverly Hills (this was my rapid prototyping), I’m not so sure its for me. The work itself was easy, I loved working with fashion like clothes and jewelry and working with stylists and celebs, but what I didn’t like were the long 9-5 hours sitting in an office and driving in 2 hour traffic to get to and from work that left me with no energy to do anything but sleep after I got home. So I guess I could apply for an entry level position at an agency which would be an account executive and then hopefully get promoted within 5 years. Not really sure what else I would do in this. Probably move to LA where all the fashion PR agencies are at and drive everyday in traffic. Yay…

3. The thing you would do if you were financially secure, and no one would ever laugh

A painter. I wish I could paint all day and drink wine. If I was financially secure, I would definitely be a painter and sell my pieces here and there to make some money. I could also teach art classes which would be amazing. I would also travel so I can discover new art and see the most beautiful places and paint the landscapes so I can remember what it looked like and felt like forever. I could even blog about it because I really enjoyed having this art blog. I would even love to work in an art museum. That would be a great job to be surrounded by creativity all the time. This is probably something I could do when I am a lot older and married probably with kids but who knows.

Ratings:

  1. Painter
  2. Teacher
  3. Public Relations

Dave Evans also mentioned that when people say “be your best self” it implies that you only have one self. But really we have multiple versions of ourselves. And these different versions of our selves are ALL good and require different things to be happy. So it is not very practical to just work in one area you entire life but try out different jobs to satisfy your other selves.

After I graduate there are SO many things I want to do that I don’t really know where to begin. I just know that I am going to do everything I need to do to make all the versions of my self happy. 🙂

I can’t wait for life after graduation.

20170508_142726

 

Leave a Reply

