Wk2-Dorm Room Death

This week’s art activity is to create a Landscape with a Corpse inspired by Kaoru. Izima Kaoru is a photographer who likes to take pictures of scenes of death with a little fashion in them. The models in his photographs wear expensive designer clothes while the context of the photo shows how they died. So my task for this week is to photograph my own death scene.

I roped in my younger brother David to help me with this and together we brainstormed ways people die for this project over lunch. We decided to go with death by drug overdose. I recently read an article on a suicide by an overdose that really suck with me and intrigued me in a way. Death is a very mysterious and rattling thing. Suicide is also a very unsettling and serious thing and I am in no way condoning it. I am doing this simply for art purposes for my class.

I decided we would have the photo shoot in my dorm room. We gathered some props like prescription pills, a water bottle, and a fashion magazine. It took a few tries to get the lighting and the poses right but here is how the photos turned out.

2017-01-31-14-44-06

2017-01-31-14-42-45

In the wide image, you can see a normal college dorm room and on the left you can see a girl (me) in bed that looks like she’s asleep. However, if you look at the close up version, you can quickly figure out by the context of the photo and the other things that are in it that the girl is dead. There is a nearly empty prescription pill bottle on the desk along side of a half empty water bottle, a fashion magazine and a laptop with with pictures of models on them. These pictures tell a story of a girl that maybe suffered from self-esteem issues, bullying  or body dysmorphia and at one point it became too much to bear. Or maybe she had extensive amounts of homework from her fashion class that the stress was too much to handle. Who knows?

I chose to add a filter to these photographs to make them look more gloomy and fit in with the subject of death. My dorm room has too many bright colors that I felt didn’t go well with it. Overall, this was a very interesting experience. Though, I sincerely hope I won’t really die this way. David laughed at me while he took my pictures saying I looked awkward and it was really hard to keep a straight face. Thanks for letting me borrow your pills David :).

“Death must be so beautiful.To lie in the soft brown earth, with the grasses waving above one’s head, and listen to silence. To have no yesterday, and no tomorrow. To forget time, to forgive life, to be at peace.” – Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

